Indiana Library Association, ILF, Library Associations
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award
Share |



The results are in! The Eliot Rosewater Book Award received 4,906 total votes. The 2018-2019 Rosie winner is Sweet by Emmy Laybourne. Honor books are The Way I Use to Be by Amber Smith and Dear Nobody: The True Diary of Mary Rose by Gillian McCain and Legs McNeil. Congratulations to the winners!

What is the Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award?

The Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award (Rosie Award) is chosen annually by students across Indiana in grades nine through twelve. Students at participating high schools and public libraries who read any of approximately 20 nominated books are eligible to rate each book they've read. The votes are tabulated each May, and the winner is announced. Click here for ballots.

The purpose of the Rosie Award is to encourage independent reading among high school students. It also promotes cooperation between school administrators, media specialists, teachers and public librarians in broadening reading programs. Rosie promotes reading across the curriculum.

God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater coverWho is Eliot Rosewater?

Eliot Rosewater is a recurring fictional character in Kurt Vonnegut's novels, including God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater. Vonnegut is a famous Hoosier author who grew up in Indianapolis. This award was named to honor him and all Indiana writers. The award is often referred to as the "Rosie Award" or "Rosie."

How can my school or public library participate?

Any school in Indiana enrolling students in grades nine through twelve can participate if they:

  1. Make sure at least 12 of the nominated titles are available to students.
  2. Provide voting forms for each student who has read at least one of the nominated books.
  3. Tally their students' voting forms and report the results to the Rosie Award Committee by May 1.

Public libraries are encouraged to purchase and publicize the Rosie books and encourage their students to vote at school. If some of the schools in the library's service area do not participate, those students may vote at the public library. Participating public libraries must also provide at least 12 of the nominated titles.

Rosie Guidelines

The following guidelines have been established to assist in the creation of the annual Rosie Wannabe List. The committee has chosen to label these as guidelines, rather than rules, so that exceptions can be made when members of the committee feel strongly that they have found something extraordinary!

 Join Rosie Committee button

Students interested in serving on the Rosie Award Committee should also contact the Indiana Library Federation office at 317-257-2040.

Applications close each year on October 31st. New members will be notified by November 7th. If you are not notified by November 7, the committee seats have been filled.  Names will not be held over from year to year, so please apply again the next year.  Applications will open up Dec 1 of each year.

Rosie Chair:
Lucy Gellert, Greenfield-Central Community School Corporation 
Chair Elect:
Laura Jones, Argos Community Schools 
Past Chair
Michelle Houser, Bellmont Senior High School 

Nominations for 2019-2020 are closed. Nominations are now being considered for the 2020-2021 Eliot Rosewater list.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal